Future Students Parents & Family Alumni & Friends Students & Employees
Admissions & Aid Academics Spiritual Life International Athletics Quick Links

Organizations

Harding Film Studies Association

The Harding Film Studies Association (the "Classic Film Club") meets to view movies and discuss themes and cinematic techniques in classic films. In 1992, senior history major Rick Fought and English major Richard Bankhead organized the group and became the club's first president and v.p. All film fans are welcome at showings and discussion sessions.

Sponsors: Ken Hammes khammes@harding.edu and Grant Dillion.

Kolbitar

The Kolbitar (Coal-biters) club is dedicated to the study of Germanic myth and literature. The group will meet informally to discuss readings from medieval Northern mythology, like The Elder Edda. More indirectly, the club will also explore the writings of C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien and other members of the original Oxford Coal-biters.

Sponsors: Larry Hunt lhunt@harding.edu and Greg Laing glaing@harding.edu

Scribblers

Begun by student Sondra Smith in 1993, this group of writers meets regularly on an informal basis. Membership goes beyond English majors, and the group is driven by student interest. Aside from encouraging and critiquing each other, the Scribblers sponsor and present public readings. There are no dues.

Sponsor: Terry Engel tengel@harding.edu

Sigma Tau Delta

Harding's chapter (Pi Mu) of the International English Honor Society offers English majors and minors opportunities to submit their work to the organization's national journal The Rectangle.

Sponsors: Michael Claxton mclaxto1@harding.edu and Kathy Dillion kdillion@harding.edu

Souvenirs

Souvenirs is a group devoted to reading, memorizing, and presenting great works of literature. Recent programs have included day-long readings of The Iliad and Paradise Lost.

Sponsors: Nick Boone nboone@harding.edu and Michael Claxton mclaxto1@harding.edu

Contact Us

English Department
501-279-4421
english@harding.edu

facebook.gif