English Department
social-icon

Organizations

Film Studies Association, Harding
The Harding Film Studies Association (the "Classic Film Club") meets to view movies and discuss themes and cinematic techniques in classic films. In 1992, senior history major Rick Fought and English major Richard Bankhead organized the group and became the club's first president and v.p. All film fans are welcome at showings and discussion sessions.
Contact Charles Bane - cbane@harding.edu - Box 10765
Heath Carpenter - hcarpent@harding.edu - Box 12248

Kolbitar
Kolbitar (Coal-biters) is dedicated to the study of Germanic myth and literature. The group will meet informally to discuss readings from medieval Northern mythology, like The Elder Edda. More indirectly, the club will also explore the writings of C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien and other members of the original Oxford Coal-biters.
Contact Larry Hunt - lhunt@harding.edu - Box 12248
Greg Laing - glaing@harding.edu - Box 12248

Sigma Tau Delta
Sigma Tau Delta is an international English Honor Society. The purposes of the Society are literary, educational and charitable. The Society strives to: confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies; provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and to promote interest in literature and the English language in the surrounding communities; foster the discipline of English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing; promote good fellowship among its members; and exhibit high standards of academic excellence.
Contact Michael Claxton - mclaxto1@harding.edu - Box 12248
Kathy Dillion - kdillion@harding.edu - Box 12248

Souvenirs
Souvenirs is a group devoted to the appreciation of great poetry. Each meeting is dedicated to the work of a particular poet or to a poetic theme. Anyone who enjoys reading poetry out loud is welcome, regardless of major. No dues will be collected.
Contact  Paulette Bane - pbane@harding.edu - Box 12248 
Michael Claxton - mclaxto1@harding.edu - Box 12248
Whitney Hammes - khammes1@harding.edu - Box 12267