Preprofessional Health Sciences


The Coons-Farrar Scholarship Fund was established to honor the memory of Catherine Farrar Williams. The purpose of the Fund is to help prepare exceptional Christian young people for careers in health and medical fields.

Full time junior and senior students (those having accumulated 60 hours of college credit, including CLEP) who plan careers in medical, biomedical or health related fields may apply. This includes students who are planning a career in the medical, biomedical, or other health related areas (e.g., medicine, nursing, statistics, biochemistry, medicinal chemistry, dietetics, pharmacology, toxicology, medical technology, medical instrumentation, computer applications to health care, genetics, biophysics, etc.). In choosing among the various applicants, the Health Science committee will consider scholarship, demonstrated capability in the chosen field, and potential for future service to the biomedical or allied health professions and to the Lord's work. Special consideration will be given to those students who plan to work in a mission field (foreign or domestic) or in a medically underserved area.

In the early part of the spring semester, interested students can pick up an application from the Preprofessional Health Science office.  Applications for the scholarships are to be submitted to Mrs. Tia Stone, Administrator of the Preprofessional Health Science office. Scholarship Coordinator, Dr. Dennis Matlock will lead the Health Science Committee in the evaluation process. The final scholarship awards decisions will be made by the director of the Coons-Farrar fund.

Several other premedical scholarships are awarded to upperclassmen each year including the Duane Priest Scholarship, the Rodney and Joan Carlton Scholarship, the Blachley Scholarship, and the Stanley Schwartz Scholarship.

Allied Health Scholarship Application

Allied Health Scholarship Description

Medical Missions Application

Contact Information

Health Sciences is part of the College of Sciences

Mrs. Tia Stone, Preprofessional Health Science Administrator


Harding Box 12274

Searcy, AR 72149


Dr. Debbie Duke, Chair of Health Science Committee


Harding Box 10764

Searcy, AR 72149